top of page

So, fearing math(s) less


I have been an educator now in practically my 10th year of teaching. And throughout every single year that I've taught, Mathematics has been involved. One thing that I've noticed, is that no matter where I taught, there were always students who hated Mathematics. This has been true for students in Asia, Africa, Australia, and North America. What's even more astonishing was the degree to which students hate it. You talk about favorite subjects and least favorite subjects, you don't get a variance for any other subject more than you get for Mathematics. And this hate, well, from my point of view and experience, stems from a fear of it.

Think about your own upbringing, regardless of your age. If you identify as someone who loved Mathematics, then great! I am happy for you (and it makes my job easier, too, so added bonus there). But, if you're one of the many (shall I say numerous?) out there who have been traumatized by an experience in a Mathematics class type of setting, regardless of it was in kindergarten or university, or anywhere in between, then I must say from the bottom of my heart, that I am sorry you experienced that.

But, like many things, it's never too late to change if you really want to change.

My goal is to not necessarily convince you to love Mathematics. However, my ultimate aim will be for you to fear it less.

"Ok, sounds great Mr. Harkin, how will I fear it less?"

Well, one of the first things I ask anyone (even grown adults who I've never taught before) if they can recall that first memory of when Math became a real struggle where they didn't feel supported, it's amazing to hear all of the different accounts for it. People can focus on a particular teacher, or a particular type of Mathematics, or maybe even a test that they took.

From then on, many people have said, "ever since that point......" and you get the idea.

Other ways include: finding the humor in Math (and sharing that with people), working to understand it better (that's hard for people with a lot of things in life), and noticing things will spark your curiosity (such as facebook posts) which can draw you in and help see it like you've never seen it before.

This blog will consist of stories I've had with students, parents, teachers, friends, and family (names changed for ambiguity). It'll also talk about my own ideas I have for the future of fearing Mathematics less, to stop that hate, and appreciate it more than we do.

Cause if we don't fear Mathematics less, well, there'll be bigger things to fear out there.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page